TV Series Review: Game of Thrones

I just finished a recent TV series by HBO called Game of Thrones.  The series is based on author George R.R. Martin’s best-selling A Song of Ice and Fire series of seven planned fantasy novels, the first of which is called A Game of Thrones. Season 1 just finished and Season 2 will start shooting in July 2011 to be aired in 2012.

Its a short 10-episode series spanning 1 hour per episode. I will say outright that the series is good. Good enough that I enjoyed enough to blog about it. The setpiece is a fantasy world in the medieval era where the balance of power is a delicate thing and you never know who are your real friends.

The series is filled with nudity and violence but they are all essential to deliver the ambiance and feel of the times. Do not watch if you are faint hearted at the sight of blood because there is a good deal of it.

I love how the show has focus on the story telling but yet has just enough of the action to keep it interesting. The show’s writers are well enough to also leave cliff-hangers at the end of each episode to keep you wanting to go to the next one.

Overall, this is a 4 out of 5 for me as there could be room for improvement but is definitely a must-watch for fantasy enthusiasts.

2 thoughts on “TV Series Review: Game of Thrones

  1. Nice review Selwyn – I take it you have not read the book (as I read no mention of how well the producers and directors interpreted it in the series). But seeing as how it has inspired you to write, I’m just awaiting the – ahem, download to finish, and I too, will watch this series.

    • No, I haven’t done some fictional paper reading for quite some time already. Most of my paper book readings are trade books as of late. Its always better in the book but I don’t mind just watching the series for this one. If I don’t have a book to compare it to, I can just enjoy the series for what it is, nothing more and nothing less. I am fine with that.

Leave a Reply

