Food Review: Wee Nam Kee

Wee Nam Kee is a place in Paseo de Roxas,  Ayala Triangle Makati (click for map). They opened not so recently but also not so long ago. Best place to park is below the Makati Stock Exchange Building by going through Ayala Avenue and taking a right at Paseo. There is an underground path that leads to a covered basement parking with more spaces. Their specialty is their Haianese Chicken and Roast Chicken. I must say both dishes are good. They are a franchise from Singapore and compared to what they have over there, ours is already considered a posh place.

This is their store in Singapore:

Wee Nam Kee Singapore

@Singapore (photo c/o sistafood.blogspot.com)

This is their store in the Philippines:

Wee Nam Kee Philippines

@Philippines (photo c/o ilivelovelife.blogspot.com)

It can sometimes be difficult to get a seat when you come late in the evening past 7:30pm but since the place has been around for a few months already, its not as jam packed as it used to be. Usually a 15-20 min max waiting time from my experience.

I love the cereal prawns the most from this place but here is a photo of their famous chicken dishes. They are done very well with the meat tender and juicy oozing with flavor. I believe this dish is said to be priced at Php 888 for the large which is for around 6 people where smaller orders start at Php 168 for solo and Php 248 for small. You can only have combos with the small size order and above.

Wee Nam Kee Chicken

Haianese Chicken and Roast Chicken Plate Combo (photo c/o foodtrippings.com)

This is their Cereal Prawn which I loved and the reason I craved to go back to this place a 2nd time even if it is out of my usual way. I like the texture and taste but I swear to minimize eating this as it filled with calories and cholesterol I’m sure. I like the breadcrumbs (/cereal?) as much as the prawn itself. Its not a cheap dish though with priced at Php 375 for a single order of 4pcs.

Best Cereal Prawn Wee Nam Kee

Cereal Prawn of Wee Nam Kee (photo c/o me)

Their barley drink is also nice they say but I haven’t tried it. Having had barley in Hong Kong and Singapore, its just not really my drink. Though something to try if you have not experienced it yet. Barley is a rice drink that is typically flavored with lemon.

I’m sorry I didn’t take much photos of this place as I didn’t plan to blog about it but later figured what the heck. I enjoyed their cereal prawn enough to tell you about it. So thanks to the other bloggers for their photos and credit is given where credit is due.

So seeing this is just to share my personal experience of the place, its not meant to do an in-depth analysis of the place as dedicated food bloggers do. If you still want to know more, here are some good blogs posts already done by others:

Wee Nam Kee Hainanese Chicken Rice
Restaurants at the Ayala Triangle Gardens
Makati Avenue, Makati City, Philippines
Telephone: +632 846-8924
Operating Hours: Everyday 11am to 10pm
Reservations are accepted on Weekends & Public Holidays only

Leave a Reply

